Massachusetts Real Estate

head_left_image

How to Prepare For A Home Inspection

Real Estate Home InspectionA home inspection is one of the biggest hurdles for a home seller to clear in a real estate transaction. Across the country there are thousands of home inspections performed daily as the normal part of real estate changing hands. Home buyers of course want to know they have a solid home and won't be dealing with some unforseen issues that they were not prepared for.

For a seller getting past the home inspection is vital for the sale to end up taking place. There are very few homes that do not have at least a few minor issues. As a seller you should always be trying to minimize the issues that could deter a buyer from wanting to move forward with the sale.

Often times there are items that could easily be remedied prior to a home inspection taking place. The goal should always be to make your home as presentable as possible and free from major visual distraction that could cause a buyer concern.

To continue reading and see some of the most common home inspection issues and what you can do to address them prior to the inspection taking place see Preparing for a home inspection. What you will clearly recognize is the fact that many home inspection issues are easily avoided if you just take a little extra time to remedy them prior to your home getting listed by a real estate agent.

____________________________________________________________________________________

About the author: The above Real Estate information on how to prepare for a home inspection was provided by BillRE/MAX Executive Realty Hopkinton Mass Real Estate Gassett, a Nationally recognized leader in his field. Bill can be reached via email at billgassett@remaxexec.com or by phone at 508-435-5356. Bill has helped people move in and out of many Metrowest towns for the last 25+ Years.

Thinking of selling your home? I have a passion for Real Estate and love to share my marketing expertise!

For Metrowest Massachusetts Real Estate and home sales see Maximum Real Estate Exposure

I service the following towns in Metrowest MA: Framingham, Hopkinton, Milford, Upton, Southboro, Westboro, Ashland, Holliston, Mendon, Hopedale, Medway, Franklin, Grafton, Northboro, Shrewsbury, Bellingham, Northbridge, Uxbridge, Sutton, Millbury, Worcester, Millville, Douglas, Natick and Wayland MA.

Building lasting relationships by helping people move in and out of Metrowest Massachusetts for the last 25 years.

Connect with me on

Comment balloon 24 commentsBill Gassett • January 29 2013 03:56AM

Comments

Yes, the home inspection sometimes causes deals to break.  Sometimes, it's because of a big major issue, but sometimes, it's over stupid, petty issues with one of the parties digging their heals in.  It's important to look at the big picture - do you want the house or not?

Posted by Debbie Gartner, The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers (The Flooring Girl) over 5 years ago

Hi Bill, many sellers fail to realize that buyers use the home inspection to justify what they're paying for the house.  Too many repair items, bye-bye buyer. Sellers would be wise to prepare and get as many things fixed prior to putting the home on the market.

Posted by Tamara Inzunza, Close-In Alexandria and Arlington Living (RE/MAX Executives) over 5 years ago

Good morning Bill,

The home inspection is a hurdle every seller will have to face. I give my sellers a pre-inspection check list to address when their getting the home ready to put on the market. If they take the time and go through it..their inspection report comes out much cleaner and attractive to the buyer:).

Posted by Dorie Dillard, Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate (Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.346.1799) over 5 years ago

Bill: The home inspection does not have to be tumultous as long as the homeowner has kept their property in good working condition, performing maintenance when needed.

Posted by Anita Clark, Realtor - Homes for Sale in Warner Robins GA (ColdwellBanker SSK Realtors ~ 478.960.8055) over 5 years ago

Good morning, Bill.... before I put my own house on the market, I had my electrician and plumber go through everything and the electrician brought everything up to code.... all minor changes, but the result was that the home inspection was free of any repairs.... nothing to be done because I did it before I put the house on the market.

Posted by Barbara Todaro, "Franklin MA Homes" (RE/MAX Executive Realty ) over 5 years ago

Bill....I find it to be an occupational hazard....in my own home I am always looking at things & thinking - oh, I would want to fix this or do that if I were selling - and we have no intention of selling anywhere in the near future but I put these things on the "to do" list so we can keep up with things as we go.  Drives my husband a little nuts though. :)

Posted by Christine Smith, Exclusive Buyer Agent & Attorney, Canton, MA (Buyers Brokers Only LLC - www.BuyersBrokersOnly.com) over 5 years ago

Thanks guys for all your comments! There is no doubt that preparing for a home inspection is something that every seller should be thinking about!

Posted by Bill Gassett, Metrowest Massachusetts Real Estate (RE/MAX Executive Realty) over 5 years ago

Bill, great points. All structural and safety items of the home should sure be in "repaired" condition before they put their home on the market or shortly thereafter, that's for sure.

Posted by Bobbie Smith, 570-242-1891 over 5 years ago

Bill great advice as always!  Cut those problems off before they occur!

Posted by Jim Crawford, Jim Crawford Atlanta Best Listing Agents & REALTOR (RE/MAX Paramount Properties) over 5 years ago

Bill, home inspections are indeed an issue. I advise my sellers to take care of issues before the home inspection happens. I don't sleep well before each inspection, LOL.

Posted by Andrea Swiedler, Realtor, Southern Litchfield County CT (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices New England Properties) over 5 years ago

Bill - I just hope that the folks here reading your entire article on your blog site as well as the comment section. Simply outstanding :)

Posted by Petra Norris, Realtor, Lakeland FL Homes for Sale (Lakeland Real Estate Group, Inc.) over 5 years ago

Thanks guys for the compliments on the article!

Petra I am sure there are very few who ever click the links. I appreciate the comps - this one took some time to write:)

Posted by Bill Gassett, Metrowest Massachusetts Real Estate (RE/MAX Executive Realty) over 5 years ago

Bill, there was no doubt in my mind that it took a while, especially in the comment section. Your research was great and I thank you for giving me some insight of the rules in the MA real estate market :)

Posted by Petra Norris, Realtor, Lakeland FL Homes for Sale (Lakeland Real Estate Group, Inc.) over 5 years ago

Hello Bill, impressive work here. I like your suggestion to fill out a Real Estate disclosure form and have it available for a buyer to see prior to them making an offer. This is a great way to let buyers know that you're not hiding anything from them. Keep it up and stay the best Bill!

Posted by Erika Rogers, St George Utah Real Estate & Relocation Specialist (Red Rock Real Estate ~ Southern Utah's Largest Independent Brokerage) over 5 years ago

Hi Bill, these are very good tips on what to expect and what to do for Real Estate Home Inspection. This is indeed very informative and easy to understand.

Posted by Bas Panch (SCV Home Buyer) over 5 years ago

Bill, that's very good information about Home Inspections. From the common defects found up to to what to do about it. Great post! Keep it up.

Posted by Debbie Harr, Realtor Homes That Click, Worthington Ohio Homes (Homes that Click Realtors) over 5 years ago

I'd have to agree that getting a pre-home sale inspection will be best prior to the actual home inspection. Great work here, stay the best!

Posted by Debra Parker, Realtor - Stuart Florida Homes for Sale (Debra Parker Real Estate, Inc.) over 5 years ago

Bill, the inspection can be a deal breaker but should not be if the seller address some simple issues before even listing the property.  I always encourage sellers to do this. I also prepare them for issues that could come up but still fixable.

Posted by Jennifer Fivelsdal, Mid Hudson Valley real estate connection ( JFIVE Home Realty LLC | 845-758-6842|162 Deer Run Rd Red Hook NY 12571) over 5 years ago

Home inspections can be a scary time for the potential buyers. I know that some of our inspectors are great at informing and others just love to scare the buyers from purchasing a home!!

Posted by Janis Borgueta, LIC RE Salesperson (Key Properties of the Hudson Valley ) over 5 years ago
Happy Birthday, Bill. Congratulations on being the member spotlight member today! Just left you a message.
Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 5 years ago

Thansk everyone for all your comment on how to prepare for a home inspection!

Posted by Bill Gassett, Metrowest Massachusetts Real Estate (RE/MAX Executive Realty) over 5 years ago

We do pre inspections for this purpose so they we can prepare the home in advance for sale.

Posted by Charles Stallions, 800-309-3414 - Pensacola, Pace or Gulf Breeze, Fl. (Charles Stallions Real Estate Services ) over 5 years ago

Charles I think that doing a home inspection prior to sale can be a really smart move!

Posted by Bill Gassett, Metrowest Massachusetts Real Estate (RE/MAX Executive Realty) over 5 years ago

Very thorough post about what to expect for a home inspection and for sellers to possibly remedy before it becomes a problem.

Posted by Gabe Sanders, Stuart Florida Real Estate (Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales) over 5 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments